What is the issue with mouthbreathers?

Breathing through your mouth can dry out your gums and the tissue that lines your mouth. This can change the natural bacteria in your mouth, leading to gum disease or tooth decay. Also a derogatory description in some cultures. "Mouth breather" is often used to indicate an unevolved person.