What's the thunder?

Thunder is the sound caused by lightning. Depending upon the distance from & nature of the lightning, it can range from a long, low rumble to a sudden, loud crack. The sudden increase in temperature and pressure caused by the lightning produces rapid expansion of air in the path of a lightning bolt.