How many more years until the sun explodes?

The sun has been shining for about 4.5 billion years, and it will do so for at least another five billion years

---

About 5 billion years, The answer of course is unknown, but two new studies suggest a collision with Mercury or Mars could doom life long before the Sun swells into a red giant and bakes the planet to a crisp in about 5 billion years.