What is an opal apple?

Opal is the brand name for a cultivar of apple also known as 'UEB32642', produced by crossing 'Golden Delicious' with 'Topaz'. Opal apples are Non-GMO Project verified. They are the first U.S. apple variety to be verified by the Non-GMO Project.