How often do new born sleep?

Generally, newborns sleep a total of about 8 to 9 hours in the daytime and a total of about 8 hours at night. But because they have a small stomach, they must wake every few hours to eat. Most babies do not start sleeping through the night, or about 6 to 8 hours, until at least 3 months of age.