What island was discovered in seventeen twenty two?

Rapa Nui, or Easter Island off the coast of Chile was visited by Dutch explorer Jacob Roggeveen on Easter Sunday in 1722. He had been beaten to it by the Polynesians, who were perhaps the best ocean-going explorers.

---

Easter Island, also known as Rapa Nui, was discovered on Easter Sunday, April 5, 1722.