How fast does a locomotive go?

Diesel Locomotive can reach a top speed of 125 miles per hour, However this is based on the engine and the track it travels on.

---

Today's bullet trains can top 300 mph. When Englishman Richard Trevithick launched the first practical steam locomotive in 1804, it averaged less than 10 mph. Today, several high-speed rail lines are regularly travelling 30 times as fast.