Why is a potato a vegetable?

Potatoes are tubers and don't contain any seeds, so it is easy to eliminate fruit as an option. Potatoes are an edible plant part, namely the starchy tuber that grows beneath the ground, making them a vegetable, botanically speaking.

---

The term "vegetable" refers to edible parts of plants that aren't fruits or seeds, including nuts and grains. Potatoes are edible tubers, which is a part of a plant that is not a fruit or seed.