How are alligators and crocodiles different?

Crocodiles have a pointed V-shaped snout and tend to live in saltwater habitats, whereas alligators have U-shaped snouts and live in freshwater marshes and lakes.

---

Alligators have wider, U-shaped snouts, while crocodile front ends are more pointed and V-shaped.