What is the crime rate in rio de janeiro?

Smartertravel.com tells is that the Rio crime rate is fairly high. Violent crime is a “frequent occurrence,” according to the Overseas Security Advisory Council (OSAC), while street crimes such as pickpocketing and purse snatching are a constant concern.