Where do key limes come from?

Key limes originated in the Florida Keys.

---

the name key lime originated from its association with the Florida Keys where it is best known as a flavoring in Key Lime pie. The Key Lime is smaller, seedier, has higher acidity, stronger aroma, and thinner rind, than that of the traditional Persian lime