How do taste buds work?

Taste buds have very sensitive microscopic hairs called microvilli. Those tiny hairs send messages to the brain about how something tastes, so you know if it's sweet, sour, bitter, or salty.

---

Taste buds are covered with microscopic hairs which pick up chemical signals from your food and tell your brain what the different tastes are.