What is a substitute for cotton?

Organic cotton is a step forward towards a more sustainable textile, preventing the use of synthetic and toxic pesticides, but it still requires a lot of water and room to grow. The main alternatives today are Polyester, Hemp, Lyocell, and - of course - Bamboo.