What is a bullet dog?

Bullet was a German shepherd who starred in the The Roy Rogers Show on television, was a family pet-turned-show dog. He alerted Roy when bad guys came near, and chased them when necessary. If stars Roy Rogers or Dale Evans were in trouble, Bullet arrived for the rescue.