Did clint walker play football?

Norman Eugene "Clint" Walker the cowboy actor on Cheyenne, probably did not play football in high school, as he left high school at age 17 to join the Merchant Marine. After that he did odd jobs including security in Las Vegas until landing an opportunity in Hollywood.