How many miles is it from the east coast to the west coast of the united states?

The greatest east-west distance, from Maine to western California is 2,876 miles. The greatest distance at a common latitude is 2,726 mile from Maine to Oregon. The shortest distance would be from San Diego, CA to Jacksonville, FL at 2,089 miles.