Who is kilroy?

Kilroy was here is a meme that became popular during World War II, typically seen in graffiti. Its origin is debated, but the phrase and the accompanying doodle became associated with GIs in the 1940s: a bald-headed man with a nose peeking over a wall with his fingers clutching the wall.