What is the first color ever made?

Artists invented the first pigments—a combination of soil, animal fat, burnt charcoal, and chalk—as early as 40,000 years ago, creating a basic palette of five colors: red, yellow, brown, black, and white. In prehistoric cave paintings, red ochre is one of the oldest pigments still in use.