Who invented yodeling?

1291: Switzerland is founded, and yodeling gets off to a trilling start! 1619: Yodeling comes to North America (but not from where you think). While the Swiss have contributed to America's love for cheese-making and pocket knives, yodeling in the US has nothing to do with the Alps.