What are swords made out of?

Early swords were made of copper, which bends easily.Bronze swords were stronger;by varying the amount of tin in the alloy, a smith could make various parts of sword harder or tougher to suit the demands of combat service. The Roman gladius was an early example of swords forged from blooms of steel.