What does the sciatic nerve do?

According to Healthline.com, the Sciatic nerve is the longest nerve in the human body. It supplies the muscles of the calf, ankle, and the back portion of the knee. The sciatic nerve also supplies sensation to the sole of the foot, the ankle, the entire lower leg, and the back of the thigh.