How far can a sniper bullet go?

According to Wikipedia, in mid-2017 it was reported that an unnamed Canadian special forces operator, based in Iraq, had set a new record of 3,540 meters or 3,871 yards, beating the record previously held by an Australian sniper (also unnamed) at 2,815 meters or 3,079 yards.