What's the hottest place on there?

Death Valley is known for having "the highest air temperature on the planet," according to science.org. The Furnace Creek area in this part of the California desert reached a sweltering 134.1 degrees Fahrenheit, or 56.7 degrees Celsius, on July 10, 1913.

---

El Azizia took the record for highest temperature ever recorded on Sept. 13, 1922, when a thermometer on a weather station hit a whopping 136 degrees Fahrenheit (58 degrees Celsius), thanks to southerly winds blowing in hot air from over the Sahara Desert.