Why was it called d-day?

The D simply stands for “day.” The designation was traditionally used for the date of any important military operation or invasion, according to the National World War II Museum. Thus, the day before June 6, 1944, was known as D-1 and the days after were D+1, D+2, D+ and so on.

---

The term D-Day is used for the day on which a combat attack or operation is to be initiated. They designate the day of the operation as "D-Day" when the day has not yet been determined, or where secrecy is essential. The best known D-Day is during World War II, on June 6, 1944.