What are the properties of pyrite?

Pyrite, or iron disulfide, is a hard, dense, metallic mineral with many uses in industry. It is known as "fool's gold" because of its golden color.

---

Properties of Pyrite include its metallic luster and pale brass-yellow hue resembling gold. Pyrite is an iron sulfide. Because of its appearance it is often referred to as Fool's Gold. Although pyrite sometimes does contain microscopic amounts of gold, it is very rarely enough to mine.