What's the history of the oreo cookie?

Two chocolate disks with a creme filling in between was developed by the Sunshine Biscuits company in 1908, which called the cookie Hydrox. The Oreo cookie invented four years after the world was introduced to Hydrox closely resembled the biscuit that preceded it.