Why is motley crue banned from the rock and roll hall of fame?

Having debuted in 1981, Motley Crue have been eligible for the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame since 2006. But, as Nikki Sixx revealed in an interview, he'd been told that their past behavior had led to them being blackballed by the Cleveland institution.