What is french roast coffee?

It is coffee roasted as dark as you can before it catches fire

---

Roasting has multiple levels, called cracks, where the beans make a popping sound. They will do this twice, called first and second crack. French roast is roasted to the end of the second crack or beyond. It is one of the darkest roasts, only behind italian roast and complete carbonization.