What does a. m. w. root beer stand for?

The 'A' is taken from the last name of Roy Allen, and the 'W' is taken from the last name of Frank Wright. The two men partnered in 1912 to form the A&W brand and inspired a chain of sit-in and drive-in restaurants known for their tall frosty mugs of Root Beer.