Who is responsible for the collapse of the soviet union?

The USSR(United Soviet Socialist Republic) fell apart so to many foreseen things. The main things that lead to this were independent countries with in wanting their own freedoms and their own independent governing bodies. They wanted to control and to elect their own countries governing powers.