How long does ecoli last?

Symptoms usually last 5 to 10 days. People with mild symptoms usually recover on their own without treatment. Antibiotics are not helpful for treating E. coli O157 infections, and may even increase the likelihood of developing H.U.S. Antidiarrheal agents should not be used either.