How long does it take for a paper plate to decompose?

According to the NYC Department of Sanitation, paper plates generally decompose in 5 years. They decompose more quickly with more moisture and heat, and thicker plates take longer to degrade. Whenever it's an option, avoid using paper plates and choose reusable plates.