How much meat is in twelve pound turkey?

Enough to adequately feed 8 hungry adults and have some leftovers. Once cooked, the edible meat of a 12 pound turkey excluding skin and bones is less than half the original weight. Birds larger than 12 pounds have a higher meat to weight ratio.