How many records do you have to sell to get a platinum record?

The platinum certification was introduced in 1976 for the sale of one million units for albums and two million for singles

---

one million. The platinum certification was introduced in 1976 for the sale of one million units for albums and two million for singles, with the gold certification redefined to mean sales of 500,000 units for albums and one million for singles.