What happened in the japanese tsunami?

The Japan earthquake and tsunami of 2011 was a natural disaster that shook northeastern Japan on March 11, 2011. The disaster began when a magnitude-9 earthquake shook the region in the early afternoon, unleashing a savage tsunami.