Why did douglas adams think that forty two is the meaning of life?

Deep Thought was a computer created by a pan-dimensional, hyper-intelligent species of beings (whose three-dimensional protrusions into our universe are ordinary white mice) to come up with the Answer to The Ultimate Question of Life, the Universe, and Everything. It’s solution was 42.