What is the mistletoe tradition?

Men are allowed to steal a kiss from a woman caught standing under mistletoe

---

During the holidays in times past, a young lady caught under the mistletoe could not refuse to give a kiss, else she may still be single next Christmas. Fast forward to today, when two people find themselves standing under a sprig of mistletoe, it is considered acceptable for them to share a kiss.