How do italian people traditionally answer the phone?

Italians have a peculiar way of answering the phone: Italians don't say “ciao” (hello), but rather “Pronto” – ready, as in “ready to speak”Ciao or Buongiorno, sono (your name) if you know the person you're calling, or mi chiamo (your name) if you need to introduce yourself.