How does a bruise form?

A bruise, or contusion, appears on the skin due to trauma. Examples of trauma are a cut or a blow to an area of the body. The injury causes tiny blood vessels called capillaries to burst. Blood gets trapped below the skin's surface, which causes a bruise.