Where does the name hermoine come from?

The name Hermione is a girl's name of Greek origin meaning "messenger, earthly". In ancient Greek myth, Hermione is the daughter of Spartan King Menelaus and his wife Helen; in pre-Potter lit, the name appears in Shakespeare's The Winter's Tale and in Walter Scott's novel The Fortunes of Nigel.