Do you drink red or white wine with turkey?

The flavor of turkey meat is variable depending on how it's prepared and even the part of the bird. The best general advice I can find is to go with a full-bodied white or medium-bodied red wine. Various recommendation lists are topped by chardonnay and pinot noir.