Is a peanut a seed?

Yes, peanuts are seeds of a leguminous plant related to peas and beans.

---

Peanuts are edible seeds that grow in pods. Still, most people think of them as nuts, along with tree nuts such as walnuts, almonds, and hazelnuts.