Who is nest from earth bound?

Ness is the child like protagonist in Earthbound the only US release of Mother games from Japan. It was called Mother 2 in 1995 on the SNES. This was it officially until being released on Virtual Console in 2017. Many say the storyline is the best due to reflection on childish themes as an adult