How long does a child have to sleep?

While there is no hard and fast rule as to how much sleep children require, the general guide is toddlers need around 12 hours of sleep a night; children aged three to six need 10 to 12 hours, seven to 12 year old's need 10 to 11 hours, and teenagers need around eight to nine hours.