What is the apollo spaceship?

The Apollo spacecraft was designed to accomplish the American Space program's goal of landing astronauts on the Moon by the end of the 1960s and returning them safely to Earth. The expendable spacecraft consisted of a combined command and service module and an Apollo Lunar Module.