Where do the birds go when it's cold?

Old woodpecker cavities, crannies beneath the eaves of houses, even a tunnel in the snow.they're all warmer than spending the night out on a limb.As an additional trick,some small birds such as kinglets and chickadees can drop their body temperature and go into controlled hypothermia to save energy