What's the definition of a beta?

Beta is the second letter in the Greek alphabet (alpha is the first, which is where we got the word "alpha-bet."). So a beta would be something that isn't quite as good as the first place thing. Beta can also mean something that hasn't been tested yet, as in beta-testing a game.