What is the battle of leyte gulf?

The battle of Leyte Gulf was the largest naval battle of World War II. It was fought near the Philippine island of Leyte, between the US Navy and Japanese Imperial navy from October 23 to October 26, 1944. The Japanese navy suffered heavy losses with the result considered a major victory for the US.