How did wilbur ross make his money?

In the late nineties, started a $200 million fund at Rothschild to invest in distressed assets. As the U.S. bubble began to burst, Ross decided he wanted to invest more & advise less. On April Fools’ Day 2000, the 62-year-old banker raised $450 million to plunge into fallen companies.