How long does it take to melt cheese?

You can put cheese in the microwave for 15 to 30 second intervals until it melts. If you'd rather melt the cheese on the stove, put your shredded cheese in a non-stick pan and heat it on the lowest heat setting until it has a stringy consistency.

---

The complete melting occurs at about 130°F for soft, high-moisture cheeses like mozzarella, around 150°F for aged, low-moisture cheeses like Cheddar and Swiss, and 180°F for hard, dry grating cheeses like Parmigiano-Reggiano. Several factors affect melting ability.